The philosopher’s voice: Index n.34

Index number 34 is now on Soundcloud!

Share your thoughts with us. Leave a comment along the tracks and be part of the project!

soundcloud jean_luc nancy index 34

Click on the picture and listen to Jean-Luc Nancy's voice

34

Click on the picture and listen to Jean-Luc Nancy's voice

 

34. En vérité, « mon corps » indique une possession, non pas une propriété. C’est-à-dire une appropriation sans légitimation. Je possède mon corps, je le traite comme je veux, j’ai sur lui le jus uti et abutendi. Mais lui à son tour me possède : il me tire ou me gêne, il m’offusque, il m’arrête, il me pousse, me repousse. Nous sommes une paire de possédés, un couple de danseurs démoniaques.

From 58 Indices sur le corps et extension de l’âme. Éditions Nota bene, Québec, 2004.

34. In truth, “my body” indicates a possession, not a property. In other words, an appropriation without legitimation. I possess my body, I treat it as I wish, I exercise a jus uti et abutendi over it. It, however, in its own turn, possesses me: it pulls or holds me back, offends me, stops me, pushes me, pushes me away. We’re both possessed, a pair of demonic dancers.

From Fifty-eight Indices on the Body (Corpus), Jean-Luc Nancy. New York, Fordham University Press, 2008.

34. In verità, “il mio corpo” indica un possesso, non una proprietà. Ovvero un’appropriazione priva di legittimazione. Io possiedo il mio corpo, lo tratto come voglio, ho su di lui lo jus uti et abutendi. Ma lui mi possiede a sua volta: mi spedisce o mi impedisce, mi offusca, mi arresta, mi spinge, mi respinge. Siamo un paio di posseduti, una coppia di danzatori demoniaci.

From Jean-Luc Nancy, Indizi sul corpo. Ananke Edizioni, Torino, 2009

Leave a Reply

